starting strength gym
Page 1 of 80 1231151 ... LastLast

Thread: Matt Reynolds: pro strongman, elite powerlifter, gym owner, strength coach...

Default Matt Reynolds: pro strongman, elite powerlifter, gym owner, strength coach...

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I was asked to set up a training log here, so let me give some background info...

I am a 31 year old lifter. I started training with weights/barbells in 1997 and have consistently lifted ever since. In 2001, I discovered Westside powerlifting through reading articles on Testosterone by Dave Tate and then scoured the internet for everything that Louie I could find. Those early days of powerlifting for me turned into a never ending passion to educate myself on the ways of training, athletic prep, nutrition, etc. I was lucky to meet and talk to some incredibly smart people along the way, including Glenn Pendlay, Rip, made treks to Westside, Big Iron, Ironsport, Metal Militia, etc. and was also fortunate to train with people who were like-minded in ther search for knowledge, such as Dave and Kyle Gulledge, Jon Gold, and Derek Binford.

In 2004, I became the strength coach at a large high school in southwest missouri, where I am lucky enough to get paid to train kids from 8th grade through their senior year of HS. Being able to coach the sheer numbers of kids (approx 200 every year) has allowed me to greatly hone my coaching skills, specifically in teaching the lifts and in programming for novices (hence my admiration for Rip).

In 2005, after totaling elite in the 242 class in powerlifting, I turned my attention to strongman, and in 2006 I won my pro card in that sport. I competed as a pro all through 2007 and 2008, and just recently made my comeback in 2010 in that sport.