starting strength gym
Page 1 of 354 1231151101 ... LastLast

Thread: DRice311's Bastardization of 5/3/1

Default DRice311's Bastardization of 5/3/1

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Since I am finding myself frequenting this site more and more - I am going to go ahead and post a log.

A little about myself:
    I am 33 years old, 5'10 and last weighed at 192lb. I have been lifting for about 5-6 years, most of that time wasted not really knowing what I was doing, and started 5/3/1 about 14 months ago. I lift with a group of 4 guys. In 14 months, all 4 of us have seen pretty significant progress.

I competed in my first USAPL meet in early June, and really enjoyed my experience. Going in, I said I was just going to do it once to test myself, but I may do it again next year. I totalled 1339lb (607kg)

My current best lifts are:
    Press: 225lb
    Bench: 380lb (not-paused)
    Squat: 457lb (at the meet)
    Deadlift: 535lb (at the meet)

Here is my opening log, for this past week (5/5/5+ on Wendler's Program):

Monday (6/25):
    Press:
    5 at 150#
    5 at 175#
    5+ at 200#
    Got 5 (barely - last one was a real grind) then did 1 additional push press. I really hate 5+ week. I felt so strong last week (1+), and so weak this week.

Assistance:
    Bench - 2x10 at 245#
    Incline - 3x10 at 205#
    Pullups - 3x15
    Fly's - 3x10 at 185#
    Dips - 3x12 at 100# + BW
    Pushup variation - plyo pushups - 50 total

Tuesday (6/26):
    Squat:
    5 at 275#
    5 at 315#
    5+ at 360#
    Got 6 at 360# - Not bad, not great either

Assistance:
    Deadlifts - 2x10 at 295#
    Back Extentions - 3x15 at 35# + 20lb band
    Dumbell Curls - 3x10 at 60lbs
    21's - 75lbs

Wednesday (6/27):
    Bench:
    5 at 245#
    5 at 280#
    5+ at 315#
    Got 6 at 315# - early workout, earlier than normal. Felt tired and sluggish, happy to just maintain - no pr's this week.