starting strength gym
Page 1 of 384 1231151101 ... LastLast

Thread: Puttering along

Default Puttering along

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello, I'm new to SS. I've been reading through the site and decided as an 'Oldster' to try posting an online log.

To start out I'm moving very quickly toward 60 years old with about 20 years of training under my belt using just a few exercises that I like and seem to fit me. 40 years ago I broke my back at L4 and so movements like a BLDL, cleans or back squats cause back pain to flare up quickly. I'm retired which helps with lifting gains and I'm still making strength gains to this day.

I've never cared for a standard bench press so I close grip instead (16" grip). Dips also suit me but I've never really pushed them hard as I tend to just lose interest in them. DB benching is something I really enjoy along with using DB's for overhead work. Front squats instead of backsquats don't cause any pain so I push them hard for about 9 months of the year. A TBDL instead of a BLDL. 1 arm rows and chins, occasionally some hammer curls and or EZ bar curls. Lots of work injuries over the years limit my choice of movements.

I tend to not perform many movements during a workout nor per cycle. I focus on just a few per day, 3 or 4 days per week. In my current cycle, Mondays I DB bench and 1 arm row, using the same DB's as I only have 1 pair of adjustable 'bells and hate to constantly change the weights except weekly. Right now while the weights are light I'm working high(er) reps, 4 sets of 15 for both movements. Wednesdays I Close Grip 5 sets of 5 and then work up to 1 heavy set of 3-5 in the Front Squat. Fridays I dip 3 to 5 heavy (for me) top singles and then Strictly Military Press a top set of 10 reps followed by 10 seconds rest and get 5 more. I sometimes finish off with a set of heavy curls.