starting strength gym
Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 2/3/4/5 to torn hip labrum and back again

Default 2/3/4/5 to torn hip labrum and back again

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey everybody, new to the forum and just wanted to share my progress from having surgery to reattach the labrum in my right hip.

Quick notes about me:
    Name: Matt
    Weight : 245
    Squat : ~400 *never tested a 1rm before the injury
    Press: 210
    Bench Press: 320
    Dead lift: 500

No video of squat or press but here are my current sources of video proof:

320 bench and 500 DL: Push/Pull Mock Meet 5/13/2017 - YouTube

275 Push press w/axle: #275 Axle OHP With leg drive - YouTube

Programming I used to get there:

I suppose you could lump me in to the group of folks who got strong in spite of my programming mistakes rather than because of my programming. I started lifting in high school with the football team. Quarter squats, maxing benches, and ugly power cleans galore. Wound up switching to wrestling and had coaches who actually knew how to lift. I followed a 10 week linear progression program that looked a lot like a BB program. But hey, I was in the sweet spot for gains so it worked. I fell in love with the Olympic lifts during this time and I've always loved to train them. This is where I also picked up my knack for coaching. I was always interested in taking kids under my wing to teach them what I knew (which at this point wasn't much).