starting strength gym
Page 1 of 96 1231151 ... LastLast

Thread: Bergstedt's Intermediate Log

Default Bergstedt's Intermediate Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello and welcome,

I am Levi Bergstedt, I am a 23 years old and I am a lawyer from Sweden.

I did what I thought was Starting Strength for 2 years, but what I really was doing was squats, bench presses, OHP's, deads and chins (which is fair enough and it got my strength up, though it took a while).

This got my lifts to (all in kgs*reps*sets):
    Squats: 120*3*3,
    Deads: 150*5,
    OHP: 40*8*3,
    Bench: 60*5*3 (I've had some problems with my right shoulder and my thoracic spine),
    Chins: 14*5*3,
    Dips: 15*5*4.

Last year I thought things were moving a bit slow, so I changed things up a bit and went from the SS-setup to something similar to an intermediate system. I (or I should say me and my girlfriend, since we since last year have been hitting the gym together three times a week almost every week, and she follows my programming as well) did this:

A: squats, OHP and standing calf raises,
    B: bench press, weighted dips and some triceps work (usually skull crushers or push-downs),
    C: deads, chins and bicep curls.

All were done for three sets of five except deads, which were done for a single set of five.

Last fall I also realized that I didn't eat enough, since I weighed 76 kg and am 183 cm long. I started eating twice a day (I only eat lunch and dinner) until I felt like I wanted to cry, and then I drank 4 liters of milk. This took me up to almost 93 kg in 12 weeks. I've cut down to 84 kg, and I now have the same waist measurement as I did when I was 76 kg, so I'm pretty satisfied with that result.

My year of a home-cooked intermediate program and eating and cutting got my lifts to my current status, which is:
    Squats: 140*5*3,
    Deads: 155*3,
    OHP: 57,5*5*3,