starting strength gym
Page 1 of 26 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Randy's Quest for 5/4/3/2

Default Randy's Quest for 5/4/3/2

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi Everyone,

I am starting an intermediate log. I've been lifting for about 16 months with the last 12 on the program (SS, then TM, then a hybrid TM & 5/3/1). Here is the link to my first log and all my boring introduction details:

Entering 40 strong than I was at 20

I will be following a Semi-Custom routine advertised a few weeks ago here, except for Squats which I am re-LPing up to focus on depth.

Week 52 (since starting the Program) - Cycle 1 - Day 1 (Squats & DL) (note: DL on 3rd week of 1st cycle, but going to just call this Cycle 1)

Squat - 255x5x3 (All legit depth, hard but not too hard. 1st set was deeper than last 2. Going to move to 5lb jumps next workout to make sure I don't cheat depth) (squatting twice per week)
    DL - 345x1,1 350x1 PR! (Was shooting for 355x1x3, but couldn't get 355. Dropped to 345 for 2 singles, and then decided I need a PR, so added 5lb and went for it. Some upper back rounding, but these were limit sets) Note: I do all my DL sets Beltless right now. My 3in Best Belt got too tight around the gut and was screwing up my form. I'm hoping when I eventually thin out and can wear the belt again my numbers improve
    SLDL - 155x8x2 (3rd week doing these, still not hard. Going to add 10lb next time)
    Shrugs - 185x20x3 (Finally got my 20 reps on all sets. Going to add 5lb next time. these start very easy, but I get tired by 12 to 15 reps)

Next Workout:
    Press - 140x5x3
    CGBP - 185x8x3 (feeling out starting weight for this)
    LTE - 53x10x3
    DB Tricep Ext - 25x12x3
    Last edited by Randy Scheingold; 05-21-2016 at 10:11 PM. Reason: modified as i sounded like a douchebag

Week 52 - Cycle 1 - Day 2 (Press)