starting strength gym
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Question re Older Lifter trying to follow PPST3

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Quote Originally Posted by AndrewN View Post
    I thought about trying Texas Method but PPST3 says too much volume is not good for an older lifter and it also suggests working out 2/week instead of 3/week to provide more recovery time. Also, given the other demands on my time, it would be very difficult for me to work out 3/week and I would likely frequently miss workouts. I am a tax lawyer and I have 5 children. 2/week gives me the flexibility to shift workout days around if necessary but still get them in for the week. I haven’t missed a workout in about 5 months now. I want my routine to be sustainable. Can you reduce the volume on Monday and ditch the Wednesday recovery workout and still do the Texas Method?
    Here's how I did it. First, I did volume day on Saturday, not Monday. The next day I would be a little groggy, and I can afford to do that on Sundays but not on a work day. Second, I only do two exercises on volume day, 5x5 squat and 5x5 press (overhead or bench), no other exercises and no warmup except for the usual squat/press the bar and work up to work sets. Midweek is Monday, and that's just a little assistance work, chinups and dips mostly. Intensity day is Wednesday, working up to one heavy set on the squat and press, and one set on the deadlift. Total time is about two to two and a half hours per week.