starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Squats

Default Squats

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi, I am hoping you can help me trouble shoot my squat. I started working with a trainer about 7 years ago, and she was great. I trained with her for about 4 years. My squats were pretty good. I am also a nurse, and unfortunately, I hurt my back. I went to chiropractor, massage therapy, active release therapy and nothing seemed to help. I continued through my workouts the best I could, but my big lifts, especially squats were suffering. I could feel an obvious deficiency on my left side. After about 8 months, my chiropractor sent me for x rays, which showed a spondylolisothesis L4 on L5. This was followed up with a scan, which showed bulging discs and 2 torn disc sacs, and some mild degeneration L4, L5, S1. I also had a partial tear of my left TFL. I did some physio, a rehab program and although my squat form us good, I can't seem to increase my weight. When I do, I end up in terrible pain, with a trip to the chiropractor for re alignment. My squat has gone from 210 lbs to 135 being a challenge. I like to squat. I believe it helped me lose a lot of weight. Is it safe to squat with these injuries? I think sometimes I get frustrated because I know I can lift more, but it doesn't always go well.will I be able to make gains if I am more conservative with my squat weight. I am turning 46 this year, and I need to know if I can correct this.

Is it unfortunate that you hurt your back, because you're a nurse? How did you hurt your back?

Melly, if you do have spondelolisthesis, it may not be a good idea to go to a chiropractor.

And the chiropractor should know this.