starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Podcast #3: Brett McKay from Art of Manliness

Really cool to see SS and AOM working together on these videos. Both have had a significant impact on me since I was a freshman in college (8 or so years). Something as simple as an article by Brett telling us why we should comb/part our damn hair instead of spike it, or to always carry a handkerchief, or to wear something with a collar- or Mark telling us to get away from the machines and dumbbells and do hard shit... These things came to me at a crucial time. Not to say I am perfect, but I really respect a lot of my own character traits- traits that both AOM and SS have instilled.

Very cool. I love this overarching theme that physical strength doesn't just make the other physical attributes better, but that it actually changes people for the better; emotionally, mentally, socially, and spiritually. I hate that the word "wholistic" has turned into "holistic" and represents some hippie nut-job's idea of health. We really do have the keys to a system that makes people stronger in all walks of life, across the board. It just starts with the acquirement of physical strength, but then spreads far beyond the physical.

It seems like the definition of manliness is the ability to be responsible and capable with the lives of others. This is the great irony of the modern attack on manliness. Manliness is actually a burden and something not to be taken lightly.

I was recently in a bad part of town here in South Africa through circumstances beyond my control. Bad part of town here means REALLY BAD. I was with my wife and my mother in law. They both automatically looked to me to resolve the situation when the denizens of that location wanted to make trouble. It was through strength and the ability to remain calm that we got out of the situation. It really sucked though, but that's what it is to be manly in my opinion.