starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Shoulder rehab video is up

Default Shoulder rehab video is up

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024

Thanks for this, Rip. Perfect timing, as I'm undergoing surgery tomorrow. I'd think you'd do the same thing following labrum repair as you did after cuff repair, right? Would you expect anything to be significantly different?

Great information, thanks Rip.

Quote Originally Posted by pertuset View Post
    Thanks for this, Rip. Perfect timing, as I'm undergoing surgery tomorrow. I'd think you'd do the same thing following labrum repair as you did after cuff repair, right? Would you expect anything to be significantly different?
    Labrum should be less painful, but I think it will probably take a longer period of deload than the cuff repair, and I'd probably be more conservative with the overhead work. BUT, I have no personal experience with a labrum repair. Maybe Will can respond.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    Labrum should be less painful, but I think it will probably take a longer period of deload than the cuff repair, and I'd probably be more conservative with the overhead work. BUT, I have no personal experience with a labrum repair. Maybe Will can respond.
    Active work begins sooner with a labral repair, since there is no contracting tissue being repaired (which then needs to heal), but Rip is absolutely correct, overhead work is slower going on a labral repair. Absolutely no overhead movements for the first 6 weeks. At that point, tissues are healed, and, if it were me, I'd start pressing again and using deep joint pain to be my guide to pull back the reigns, if need be.

Quote Originally Posted by Will Morris View Post