starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fighting a losing battle

Default Fighting a losing battle

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Mr. Rippetoe,

I would like to know your thoughts on this matter. Perhaps it is me venting, but feel free to vent back.

I am a strength coach at a private facility and believe in nothing but the fundamentals. I understand the bull shit in the industry of "fancy" exercises, and special treatments that are all just bogus and not even needed, if you simply perform the fundamentals properly. However the issue I am having is with my client base. They are soaked in the bull shit philosophies of all this "special treatment" training and "sport specific" training, and I am having a hard time conveying to them that what we are doing (the fundamentals and proper progression) is priority. Specifically I have a client that just wants more. More training, more specialties, more stuff to do. We have made nothing but PRs every single week for the past three months. She has recently paid for more training to do "corrective exercise" and "transverse abdominal strengthening" to better her squat with another trainer..... I cannot even make this up. Do I allow her to waste her money, and just nod my head and say good job and condone this? I just cannot steal money from people. Do i switch up her training for the sake of fun and forget my moralistic approach to true progressions?

The fact that I don't blow smoke up everyones ass and intelectually masterbate in front of everyone on bull shit ideas and sciences, makes me look like an amatauer...... Its catch 22 it seems.

A more direct question for you on this rant; how do you deal with your clients that want all the fancy bull shit? Let them have it and take their money? Dont work with them at all?

Just looking for your wisdom

Aaron