starting strength gym

Thread: Article: The Profession of Barbell Coaching

Default Article: The Profession of Barbell Coaching

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024

Excellent read, this has reaffirmed everything I've been thinking the past few months. I've been training for 5 years now, but only started coaching for the last year when some friends and family asked me to coach them. After a year teaching them to train I realized I wanted to pursue the SSC, but I knew just coaching friends in a basement gym wasn't enough to get me there. Fortunately Dan Flanick just opened his own gym 30 mins from me, I reached out to him for coaching and guidance towards getting the SSC. Meeting with him made we want to be a part of the SSC community even more than before. Your organization is doing a lot of good in the strength world.

Extremely important and well-written. Needed to be said just this way. Shared.

I truly wish there was a SSC gym locally. The value of coaches isn't just their ability to rapidly help novices become good or even great lifters. Coaches breed good coaches through mentoring and personal example. I want to eventually obtain the SSC credential, but I need the experience. Without a SSC gym or owning your own it isn't impossible, but it is certainly a hell of a lot harder. I'm just thankful that this organization is staffed with people who give sound information and advice so freely. Without the blue book and this site I would never have known what barbell training, correctly, looked like.

I was re-reading this article tonight (it's an important one), and this jumped out at me: