starting strength gym
Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: Mark - bad science

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Quote Originally Posted by Crom View Post
    As an engineer, I use science constantly, every day. I like science. I believe it works.

But having said that, I also have to point out that most of what we call "science" is not really science at all, but merely "the opinion of scientists".
    This is so true. What everyone reads are the conclusions, almost never the actual study or experiement details and results. The conclusions are just the opinion of that particular scientist of the results of the study. I would be willing to bet that if you asked ten different scientists, that are "experts" in the area of the study, to draw a conclusion from the results, you would get twelve different answers.

I'm also an engineer. I've seen almost zero correlation between degree level and actual knowledge and understanding. What I've seen from a lot of phD's, is that they had a professor that essentially gave them their degree for being a research assistant/paper writer/funding helper. They did not get it from actual deep understanding of a particular topic. Yet everyone seems to think that phD is some awe inspiring feat that declares "expert" to anything the person states.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy C. View Post
    Another great explanation is from Michael Crichton:

Media carries with it a credibility that is totally undeserved. You have all experienced this, in what I call the Murray Gell-Mann Amnesia effect.
    I am also a big fan of Crichton's philosophy of science more than his novels. If you are not already aware of his lecture "Aliens caused Global Warming", it shows great insight into the problems of "science".
    https://wattsupwiththat.com/2010/07/...hael-crichton/