starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Problem with protein primarily through dairy?

Default Problem with protein primarily through dairy?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Jordan, I couldn't find an exact, pointed answer in your sub-forum's history to this question: Are there any health concerns that wouldn't be obvious to a trainee if they were getting the majority (or all) of their protein through dairy sources?

I saw lots of answers regarding paleo, gomad, and vegetarians, but I'm none of these. I'm just a trainee that doesn't particularly enjoy eating or cooking meat (call me crazy). The seduction of not having to prepare a day's meals beyond slicing off a bunch of sharp cheddar, pouring some milk, and grabbing a couple cups of oats to go with my unflavored/additive-free whey powder is very strong - just want to make sure this "shortcut" isn't going to sabotage me somehow.

For the record, I don't have any lactose intolerance that I know of, and it sounds like I'd know if I did, and I take a solid multivitamin.

Thanks for your time!

Eh, your saturated fat intake might be a bit high, as well as total fat depending on the other parameters of the diet. I don't think there are any divine benefits of chicken vs milk outside of total cals/protein, however.

Jordan, is there such a thing as too much saturated fat or too much total fat if total calories are kept the same (and carb intake isn't "low")?

Quote Originally Posted by Luke S View Post
    Jordan, is there such a thing as too much saturated fat or too much total fat if total calories are kept the same (and carb intake isn't "low")?
    Yes.

Quote Originally Posted by Jordan Feigenbaum View Post
    Yes.
    May you elaborate on this? Is it to do with saturated fat just being a fat in general or it being specially a saturated fat? Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by BigA View Post