starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Melatonin?

Default Melatonin?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Jordan,

This question does not pertain to nutrition but to the dietary supplement melatonin. I suffer from frequent bouts of insomnia; whereas I have trouble falling to sleep, or at times staying asleep. I have a somewhat physical job and train hard regularly, so this is very detrimental to me. A friend of mine recommended that I try melatonin. I did, and it does help. I also might add that I get the desired REM dreamy sleep when taking it. Thing is, I've been using it for over a couple of months now and it's beginning to make me feel kind of drowsy or sluggish during the morning hours. I've cut my dosage back significantly, but I'm still experiencing some of these adverse side effects. From what I understand melatonin is designed for short term use in order to get the natural sleep cycle back regulated. In my case, I've become somewhat dependent on it in order to get my ever so desired rest. Is it safe to use this supplement long term?

From what we know based in the medical literature, melatonin is safe to use long term (as it should be considering the amount your pineal gland pumps out daily). We also have data showing that smaller doses tend to work "better" than large doses of melatonin, but to be honest- the average decrease in the time it takes you to fall asleep with melatonin is a few minutes. That's not to say that it doesn't "work" in some people, just that it's probably not the first line treatment I'd reach for. That would be sleep hygiene improvement