starting strength gym

Thread: No longer losing weight on caloric deficit when lifting

Default No longer losing weight on caloric deficit when lifting

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I am 35 years old and starting a caloric deficit (I eat 1800 calories daily) back in May. During the months of May and June, I consistently lost 1.5 pounds each week for a grand total of 12 pounds bringing my weight down to 212. During this time I lifted about three times. After reading To Be a Beast however, I realized the importance of lifting to maintain muscle and strength and began lifting every other day. Ever since I started lifting regularly at the end of June the scale consistently says I weight 213-214. Considering I am still eating 1800 calories daily, I have no idea what's going on. Is the weight lifting preventing me from losing weight somehow? or could it be that the biological processes that take place after lifting are messing with my scale reading? I should be at about 209 by this point and I don't understand what's going on.

What were you doing activity wise outside of lifting from May to June and how are you measuring your caloric intake?

Default activity

I use the lose it website and app to track my calorie intake. I wasn't exercising at all during the time that I was losing weight consistently. According to my fitbit, I was burning about 2,500 calories daily.

I was using the lose it website and app to count my calories and I wasn't exercising at all during that time. According to my fitbit, I burned about 2,500 calories daily during that period.

Quote Originally Posted by Rob G View Post
    I was using the lose it website and app to count my calories and I wasn't exercising at all during that time. According to my fitbit, I burned about 2,500 calories daily during that period.