starting strength gym
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Smoking cigars and/or pipes

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    The occasional Hoyo de Monterrey added 5 pounds to my squat.

I was drawn to this thread interested in understanding what a very casual/social smoker might want to know about that rare cigar.
    Anecdotally, I notice no negative impact to strength or endurance after smoking a cigar. I'm a novice lifter and recreational endurance athlete which means my experience may be very different from someone higher up the ranks of a sport.
    As a grown man, I am capable of weighing the risk of smoking a cigar in regards to mortality. What remains unexplored is weighing the risk of smoking a cigar in regards to performance.

I work with a lot of peripheral vascular disease patients, people who have blockages in their leg arteries, more often than not from nicotine. They range the gamut: the nuisance of having severe leg cramps while walking more than a block, to 24/7 leg pain keeping awake up at night, to needing frequent revasc procedures, stents, grafts, massive graft re-dos, massive ugly wounds, and of course losing legs - often first below the knee and then a re-amp above the knee and sometimes up to the hip. Long painful hospital stays, infections, re-infections, ICU stays.

That's all nicotine. That's not tar or smoke.

As a man, and not a child, I think about the consequences of my actions that may be years or even decades away. As opposed to only thinking about what is days or weeks away.

The studies I have read about cigar and pipe smoking only show a slight increase in cancer risk over a non-smoker (considering the inherent bias of these studies evidenced by the ones about second hand smoking). It seems the benefit of relaxing and lowering "stress" (from a relaxing smoke) would balance out that difference if not be better for you.