starting strength gym
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: The Book?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I do wonder how much any possible answer to the question of when are you strong enough is lost on many of us who do not train others. If you don't do manual labor then you really don't see people's strength levels on display. People are way weaker than I think many of us assume because of who we compare ourselves. I know people are fatter and weaker than previous generation, but even compared to farmhands 50 years ago, I imagine squatting bodyweight for 5's would still be stronger than most people "needed" to be to get through their lives.

I am still a relative noob and thus relatively weak, but I am much stronger than I was. The thing is that I wasn't exactly struggling to work very physical jobs while I was weak by my current standards. I wonder though how much the pursuit of strength and the processes it triggers is necessary even after the actual weight on the bar reaches levels where you are certainly more than strong enough for the tasks at hand?

I'm young (late twenties) and I've always had the the "strong enough?" question. Its a sad answer to us lemmings, but I think the "juice to squeeze" ratio decision is a personal one after you're above that "strong enough to deal with challenges of daily life" question. Its probably somewhere more than 1.5x bw for reps, and less than 3x bw for reps. A range so large, its mostly useless.

Interestingly enough, Rip / Stef told me at a seminar that a big problem is maintenance programs are boring. They truly are! They also are a great reminder of how the body seems to want to mean revert to weakness. Stomache flus, a bad nights sleep, low carbs - they all just KILL a "just enough" maintenance protocol. I notice less delicacy of the variables when I'm eating and training for gainz.