starting strength gym

Thread: Programming during the soccer season?

Default Programming during the soccer season?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi,

I am an amateur soccer player and I'm curious what kind of programming I should follow during the soccer season.

My weekly game load is a easy going beer-and-pretzels old man game on Thursdays then a full field very intense and competitive game every Sunday. I play midfield so I run a lot. I have been doing SS for the past two months but it doesn't seem optimal to continue with that during the season(or maybe it is?)

What should I be doing to keep my fitness during the season while also not burning myself out? I don't necessarily care too much about optimal performance on Thursdays but Sunday I need to be on my game.

Thanks!

Just try it and see what happens.

Quote Originally Posted by JoeJ View Post
    Just try it and see what happens.
    Tried it. I am much slower, fatigue easily, and generally very stiff. The level of my play has taken a nose dive.

Any ideas? I'm thinking of calling this experiment a failure and going back to sprints + ab work to prep for season.

Quote Originally Posted by Huskalator View Post
    Tried it. I am much slower, fatigue easily, and generally very stiff. The level of my play has taken a nose dive.

Any ideas? I'm thinking of calling this experiment a failure and going back to sprints + ab work to prep for season.
    Maybe a heavy day on Tuesdays and a light day on Friday. Maybe.

definitely this^

Tried it. I am much slower, fatigue easily, and generally very stiff. The level of my play has taken a nose dive. Any ideas? I'm thinking of calling this experiment a failure