starting strength gym

Thread: Should I go back to Starting Strength or use the Texas Method?

Default Should I go back to Starting Strength or use the Texas Method?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi everyone, I wanted to check with the more experienced members here if I'm making a mistake in my programming.

Here's some background info:
    Height: 5' 9"
    Weight: ~173 lbs

I started training in May 2016 with Starting Strength (weighing about 140), then in late October I started using the Texas Method.

My lifts progressed as follows (from May till now):
    Squat 145x5x3 -> 320x1x3
    Bench 130x5x3 -> 190x6
    Press 90x5x3 -> 155x1x5
    Deadlift 215x5 -> 360x3

I'm considering switching back to SS instead of continuing with TM because now I intend to gain about 30 lbs (at a rate of 3-4 lbs/wk).

I didn't do GOMAD before (I know -- I didn't follow SS as closely as I should have). Anyway with this weight gain, shouldn't I be able to add 10-15 lbs/wk to my squat instead of 5? I'm sleeping 8 hours a night, eating well and doing GOMAD. Stress levels are pretty low. Do you think I could use SS again? Or am I being too optimistic in my ability to progress? Thanks in advance for your help.
    Last edited by aelk; 01-11-2017 at 09:06 PM.

Gaining 3-4 pounds a week at 5'9" means you're gonna be pretty fat. You should shoot for 1-2 pounds a week at most.

When did you switch to TM, and where were your lifts when you did? How are you running TM now? Weight gain should help you a bit in terms of strength, but it's not going to guarantee you're going to add 10-15 pounds a week on your squat. I don't think that's how TM is set up. Do you think it's realistic that your squat get up to 410 pounds in 6 weeks at 173 pounds?