starting strength gym
Page 1 of 39 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: So does the Texas method suck?

Default So does the Texas method suck?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I'm a noob who is coming closer to the intermediate stage (not there yet). After reading ppst I started viewing the TM as the best program out there. That's what I planned on doing after my LP. But then Jordan Feigenbaum wrote this article, and suddenly I got the impression that the "vanilla TM" has no practical use. Is this concept outdated? Should I do something else instead?

It may work just fine for you. It may not. I/we don't know your if your recovery is on point. We don't know your goals. We don't know your history or age.

Tough question to answer with certainty. I like the TM and have used it on myself and my trainees and have seen good results. The idea that you can add five pounds a week to 5x5 squats for a long time is one that is not correct, however. It will kill you. The TM can and does work. If you are a good candidate for it, make sure that your volume day stressors do not kill you. Volume day should be hard, but should not leave you shattered.

Quote Originally Posted by zar9star View Post
    I'm a noob who is coming closer to the intermediate stage (not there yet). After reading ppst I started viewing the TM as the best program out there. That's what I planned on doing after my LP. But then Jordan Feigenbaum wrote this article, and suddenly I got the impression that the "vanilla TM" has no practical use. Is this concept outdated? Should I do something else instead?
    Some of the other SSC's have said their clients have had success with it.

Its a "lifter's program". If you can't eat, sleep, and lift with unbridled excess . . . it may not work.

Low stress lifestyle probably is a plus too (no kids, ez job, etc)