starting strength gym

Thread: High Volume/Low Intensity

Default High Volume/Low Intensity

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Andy,
    I am just beginning the transition from novice LP to intermediate. I plan on (somewhat) following the intermediate program listed on p.152 of PP.

Mon
    Intensity Bench (5RM)
    Volume Press (5x5 @ 90% 5RM)
    Chins (3 sets to failure)

Tues
    Intensity Squat (5RM)
    Volume Deads (not exactly sure what yet)

Thurs
    Intensity Press (5RM)
    Volume Bench (5x5 @ 90% 5RM)
    Chins (3 sets to failure)

Frid
    Intensity Deads (5RM)
    Volume Squat (5x5 @ 90% 5RM)

Where would this program fall on the strength/hypertrophy scale? If I wanted to bend the program more towards hypertrophy than strength (especially for upper body), how would I change it rep/set wise? Should I do higher rep sets (8-12) for volume days? Should I keep the 5RM intensity workouts? Plus, I am not really interested in adding in accessory lifts right now.

Thanks so much!

I'd just do higher rep back offs after your volume stuff. 2 x 8-12 are usually good on Press/Bench. You can also add volume by doing some Dips on your Press/Bench days and slide your chins over to your squat/deadlift days and get more volume on those as well. Throw in some arm work as time and energy allow

Thanks Andy! Sounds like a good plan. I do have one more question if you don't mind.

What has more of an impact on overall strengths games - the 5RM or the 5x5 @90%? I thought it was the 5RM but I also think I saw somewhere in PP that the 5x5 is more impactful. If the latter is the case, why even keep a 5RM set?