starting strength gym

Thread: Early intermediate programming/thoughts on TM?

Default Early intermediate programming/thoughts on TM?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I started lifting about 11 months ago. In that time I've done SL 5x5 and then switched to a weekly linear progression program from Jonny Candito.

Some info about me: Male, 32 years old, stressfulish job. My lifts are Squat: 225/102 Bench 150/68 DL 245/111

Anyhow, I recently started TM. I started with volume day doing ascending sets on squats and bench. It felt hard but not terrible. Intensity day was fun, going for 1x5 at the weights I listed above. I made, what I realize now to be, a huge mistake and also began a cut at the same time. I went to a 500kcal deficit to lose some fat. Changing so many variables at once, i.e. the training volume and nutrition was really stupid. So yesterday after just a week and half doing TM, my body shat all over me. I felt like I had a virus...chills, lethargic, achy...the works. I've never before had an issue with recovery.

My question: is TM, perhaps with some modifications, feasible to do if I go back to maintenance or perhaps a surplus or should I look for other programming? Does a program like TM simply require too much in terms of being 100% with sleep + nutrition?

I am likely going to stop TM and continue my cut, lifting submaximal weights for 6-8 weeks, working my way back up to my 5rm for each lift. But after that, I'd like to start a reasonable program that will work for an early intermediate lifter. Any general advice would be greatly appreciated.