starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Post-novice female HLM oly lifting routine

Default Post-novice female HLM oly lifting routine

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey guys

I was just wondering what you all think about this routine i've come up with for my girlfriend, fresh of her LP. I'm not too experienced in HLM programming, and neither olympic weightlifting.

Her current stats after exhausting the LP on squats and deads and doing oly lifts for a month are :
    Bw 60kg age 19
    High bar atg squat 95kg x 3
    Clean style Deadlift 95 x 3
    Snatch 35kg
    Power jerk 40kg
    Clean 62.5kg
    Bench press 47.5kg 5x3
    Front squat 70kg 3x3

Her final stage of LP looked like this (for the strength lifts)

Monday:
    Squat 3rm +4x3 @90% of 3rm
    Deadlift 2x3 or benchpress 5x3
    Snatch

Wednesday
    Front squat 3x3
    Deadlift 2x3 or bench press 5x3
    Jerk

Friday
    Squat 3rm +4x3@90% of 3rm
    Deadlift 2x3 or bench press 5x3
    Clean

Going forward, i was thinking of having her squat HLM mon wed friday with an additional back of set on heavy day compared to her final stage of Lp and reducing the frequency of deadlifts to bring in some push pressing. For squats and deads i'm thinking of rotating reps on heavy day over a 3 week cycle, keeping medium day constant and only increasing it cycle-to-cycle

Mon heavy
    Squat 90x3 + 5x3@90% of 3rm/ 95x2 +5x2@90 of 2rm/ 100x1 +5x2@90%1rm
    Bench 5x3
    Snatch

Wed light
    Front squat 3x3
    Deadlift 2x3 / 2x2 / 3x1
    Jerk

Fri medium
    Squat 5x3@90%3rm
    Push press 4x3
    Clean

My only concern is that fridays squats will be too much of a stress, making it a heavy day(?) I'm also worried that the drop in reps on mondays heavy day wont be enough of a volume drop to dissipate fatigue, perhaps a 4th deload week would be beneficial to ensure progress cycle-to-cycle... Thoughts?