starting strength gym
Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Modifying PL program for general strength

Default Modifying PL program for general strength

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Greetings,

My current state is that i don't exactly know how to start this. Before serious strength training i was doing all kinds of crap, first useless split routines for a year, then SL5x5 few months, then Candito's strength/hypertrophy and finally switched to full body training 3x a week (which just feels right). Overall i have ~3 years of lifting "experience", my stats are:
    Squat - 120kgx3
    Bench - 105kg
    DL i think is around 150kg (haven't done it for long time since i got some issues with my hip)
    BW is ~70kg

Lately i was doing heavy chinups combined with heavy bench and developed elbow tendonitis (it mostly healed by now).

Specifically, i would like to modify PTW - PowerliftingToWin program which i was planning on doing before but lacked microplates at the time (planing on buying them soon) and now i don't want the program to be PL specific because i won't be competing. So i was thinking to run it as a general strength program with added, say OHP, row, pullups/chinups and a curl variation and maybe without the Deadlifts or just once a month or so + working on technique for Olympic lifts, mainly Clean & Jerk. What is the best way to blend this into the program? What kind of template should i use in terms of rep ranges and exercise rotation on a specific day for added movements?

Plan is to do it as follows:

Volume day (Mon)
    Squat 4x8 till i can do 4x10 then adding weight.
    Bench 5x8-10
    Row 5x8-10

Light day (Wed)
    Squat 5x6 70-80% of Monday weight.
    OHP 5x6
    Chinups/Pullups 3x10-15

Heavy day (Fri)
    Squat 5x3-6
    Bench 5x3-6
    Row 5x3-6

Could this be too much volume?