starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Programming for a female track athlete

Default Programming for a female track athlete

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello,

I have been approached by a female track athlete to help her with strength training.

She is a 180cm, 20yr old 400M hurdles runner. All legs. She also runs the 100M and 300M. She has no injuries other than intermittent mild sciatica. She eats very well (I think even Jordan would be impressed with her self-taught nutrition).

I've been discussing her training with her, and it stuck out to me that weight training is not a material (but not non-existant) part of her training at present. I think some SS could help her improve her times. Thought I'm not an SS coach, I've been doing lifting the barbell almost exclusively for around 15 years, so I feel comfortable coaching her technique within the SS framework. I have read all of Rips books including PP, but though she is an advanced athlete, I feel establishing her strength base is key.

My question:

What is appropriate programming for such an athlete? Would a simple Starting Strength LP suffice?

Thanks for your input!
    Last edited by pshotsb17; 07-08-2017 at 12:38 AM. Reason: spelling

Quote Originally Posted by mgilchrest View Post
    Will she be training for track at the same time?

Understood that she eats well, but is she able to gain weight?
    Yes she trains track almost year round, with the second half of the year being the low season in terms of competition, and the most important meets being in the late spring.

She can certainly gain weight, the question is how much is beneficial to running hurdles. I would think increasing strength at her current weight would be preferable to increasing speed?

She's tall. How much does she weigh now?