starting strength gym
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Abbreviated warmups

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I don't understand time wasted "shuffling plates"? Do you have to walk across the gym to fetch more plates? Is it troublesome to take a 25 off and put a 45 plate on, or just adding 2 tens to the 25?

Quote Originally Posted by mdavis6890 View Post
    I'm a novice male. 6'2", just now at a 135 squat. I've followed starting strength in the past for some brief, multi-month stints, but always stopped. My last squat work-sets a year ago were 165, and I plan to be back to that in the next few weeks or so.

One of the things that has been a detractor for me has been the suggested warm-up sets. These add a lot of time for me with all the plate shuffling and many short sets before getting to the "real" workout part.

What I've been doing lately is just a few sets of 5 at progressively greater weights that stop quite short of my work sets. Example from last time: 5x45, 5x65, 5x95, then 3x5x135 for the work.

I'd like to continue that, or even make it more abbreviated if possible, so that the overall workout time is not it's own impediment to starting. If I know it's going to take 2hrs, I'll find lots of reasons not to. If I can get through my squats in <30min, I likely will even if I don't get to my OHP or deadlifts, or even come back for them later after a meeting or something.

Questions: How abbreviated can I make the warm-ups? Do any of you do this and can advise?

Goals:
    1. For me I just want to be "pretty strong," not worry about getting close to my genetic potential or whatever. 80% of that would probably be fine.
    2. I want to do this with minimum time out of my day.
    3. I want to reasonably maximize whatever I can out of the novice phase, and reduce calendar time to "pretty strong"

Thanks very much in advance for helping a noob like me.