starting strength gym

Thread: Achilles Tendinosis And Plantar Fasciosis

Default Achilles Tendinosis And Plantar Fasciosis

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi everyone. I'm reposting this here because I originally posted it in the wrong section and can't figure out how to delete the other thread. Sorry, I'm new to the forum.

So here's my situation. I'm a professional Muay Thai fighter, and after a fight back in April last year I had to take some time off from sparring etc to let some cuts heal. I decided to use the off time to focus on my strength training and started the Starting Strength program (before this I was pressing, squatting and deadlifting, but only once a week). I also added in calf raises at the end of my sessions as accessory work (because I'm an idiot and was bored basically). After a couple of weeks of this my left achilles got really sore so I stopped training and rested for a couple of weeks, that didn't really help at all. I went and saw a physiotherapist who confirmed that I have achilles tendinosis and told me to do eccentric calf raises. I was a bit dubious about this as I never had problems with achilles before until I started doing calf raises in the first place, but followed what he told me to do. After a few weeks of that my achilles was no better and both my heels were hurting as well (self diagnosed as plantar fasciosis). Since then I've been to another physio who evaluated me and said I don't have any mobility issues (I'm actually much more flexible than an average person).