starting strength gym

Thread: Femoral Acetabular Impingement Surgery Recovery

Post Femoral Acetabular Impingement Surgery Recovery

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    ALRIGHT, OKAY. I'm a trainer at a private facility in Blaine, MN, and my boss is an athletic trainer/strength coach with an MS in applied exercise science. He, boss man, had arthroscopic left FAI surgery on 23 May 2017 at 10 AM. He is having his right side done on 08 June 2017. This will be a semi-thorough log on his progress as we attempt to get him back to hockey (goalie) and full squat/DL from surgery(ies) ASAP.

23 May
    10 AM - surgery
    2 PM - 30-minute massage w/ an emphasis on lymph drainage (there is a massage therapy wing at his gym)
    7:15 PM - inserted 21 dry needles into his quad which had swelled to 23.25 inches after the surgery from 20.25 inches pre-surgery.
    8:30 PM - mid thigh dropped down to 22 inches

24 May
    4:45 PM - mosey into the gym at a very slow pace and eventually get down onto the bench press for a few sets, working up to 135 lb. Thoracic and lumbar spine extension at the beginning was very painful. Adductor insertions and hip flexors seemed to be the root of the pain, as they did not want to stretch out at all.
    6 PM - 30-minutes on stationary bike. Extremely difficult at first. He was manually lifting his left leg by his shorts as a compromise for inabiliyu to flex his left hip at the start, but after a while he could actually go through a hill workout and push it a bit. The quad, glutes, and hamstrings all felt fine.
    7:15 PM - 60-minute massage with light pressure and some lymph drainage.

25 May
    8 AM - Quicker sit down on the bench. Stayed seated for a set of DB press @ 15 lb, which made his hip twinge on the first rep, but was fine after, likely from it's work in stabilizing his trunk.
    Layed down for four sets of DB pullovers and chest flyes.