starting strength gym

Thread: Groin Injury, Squats and the Starr Rehab Protocol

Default Groin Injury, Squats and the Starr Rehab Protocol

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Main Questions

I have an adductor injury. My injury don't feel particularly strained when I'm doing squats. If I didn't injure myself doing squats, will squats with the Starr Protocol work?

If not, what exercise could I do?

Details

I started lifting about 2 months ago. I lift three times a week, I am still lifting pretty light, I've taken some powerlifting classes and I have pretty good form. Outside of a sore back for a weekend, everything has been great. Last Sunday I was playing softball and as I was coming back from outfield I noticed a pain in my left groin. (At some point, either during that inning or a prior inning, I had done some bodyweight squats to limber up. I don't think that's what injured me. I think it was turning and running for a ball without warming up.) It wasn't awful and I finished the game. It got worse and worse throughout the night. I spent that night and the next two days resting and icing.

The next day, Wednesday, I went to a physical therapist who diagnosed an adductor strain. He gave me some exercises and resistance bands but after listening to Rips podcast and reading here, I'm skeptical of these programs.

Yesterday I learned about the Starr Rehab Protocol and I'm interested in trying it. However, I don't think I injured it doing squats. I haven't been back to the gym since I injured myself but when I do bodyweight squats I don't feel anything different except for a general mild soreness in the left hip and a very slight strain in the injured area midway through ascending. Today I did 10x25x3 (just what I have around the house) and it felt slightly better afterwards.