starting strength gym

Thread: Carpal tunnel

Default Carpal tunnel

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    So apparently I have carpal tunnel in my left wrist. I am new to SS (since Jan) and I'm guessing that weights have brought this on to one degree or another. It is the only thing changed in my life and I don't do a lot of typing etc so. In anycase, I'm trying to figure out how to do SS and no F up my wrist more.

What modifications are recommended?

Here is what I am currently doing:

1) wearing wrist brace during the day and night (not the kind I can use while lifting)
    2) occasionally taking ibuprofin
    3) writing this post
    4) bitching lol

Ideas:

1) wearing a brace / wrap while I lift??? Would that help??

2) Straps for deadlifting? I have been using hook grip, but am concerned the strong gripping will aggro my wrist so thinking of moving to straps.

3) Avoiding pull ups?? Not that I'm great at them in any case anyway...????

4) what about the over head press? the wrist position worries me.

The doctor suggested hitting the treadmill and not lifting which of course I"m not going to do so, advise?? Thanks!

Just FYI my numbers

BW: 233
    Squat 290 lbs
    Bench 170
    press: 120
    Deadlift 325

How old are you? How tall? What was your weight prior to starting your LP?

I experienced the same thing partway through LP and on into post-LP. Two explanations I came up with: 1) increased size narrowed the passages that the nerves run in or 2) some sort of improper form. In my experience, it eventually settled down. No specific reason why, could be my body getting used to it, could be cleaned up form, probably a combination of both. Maybe all of that with a tinge of age too.