starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Lifting Session 3/14/2018

Default First Lifting Session 3/14/2018

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi guys, I'm new to the program and am posting here to get feedback and to motivate myself.

I've spent a lot of time doing lots of cardio (up to 1.5 hours a day) and weight machines/dumb bells, while on a caloric deficit, with basically nothing to show for it. This has pushed me to finally start SS after having read most of the book a few years ago.

Body stats: 5'8" or 5'9" (Not sure exactly, so I'm going with 5'8"); 230 lbs

Nutrition: I've worked out a diet with about 230 grams of protein per day (I'm doing two 50-gram protein shakes a day to get that level without eating too many calories, given my current weight). That puts me about even for body maintenance (slight deficit), were I not working-out at all.

First day:

Squat
    Body weightx1x3
    45x1x5
    65x1x5
    95x1x5
    115x3x5

Bench Press
    45x1x5
    65x1x5
    95x3x5

Deadlight
    95x1x5
    135x1x5
    155x1x5

I'm confident my bench press was truly maxed out - I almost faltered on my very last rep and felt drained. I felt pretty exhausted after my deadlights, and feel like my deadlift work set weight was good. I am second-guessing myself on my squat work set weight, but feel like I'm at a good level for starting (that said, I'm second-guessing myself a bit based on seeing other guys' starting squat weights, including in relation to their other lifts).

Looking forward to whatever feedback/suggestions/encouragement/insults anyone wants to provide. I want to make sure I get a good start, especially from the nutritional side of things, so I can be as successful as I can be.

Hi Noob!

How old are you?