starting strength gym

Thread: Musician with forearm tendinitis

Default Musician with forearm tendinitis

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello All,
    I'm a guitarist in music school who would like to give Starting Strength a go. I've had tendinitis for the last two years, and I've gotten pretty good at managing and avoiding flareups (I have a good amount of experience with self massage etc...)
    I met with a personal trainer to help me build up to the Starting Strength regimen, since I have to play for at least 5 hours a day, I figured it was best to start with very light weights as to not exacerbate any symptoms. After working with her for a week, I ended up getting inflamed again. I believe it happened from having to write for a long period of time, but also because there was added stress from lifting and playing. Anyway, I'm waiting until the end of the quarter to give it another shot. My questions: Has anyone here ever started this program with preexisting tendinitis, and were you able to make progress? Also, what exercises would be good to build up to being able to lift the bar? Are there any modifications I should consider right off the bat to reduce tension on the forearms? My apologies if any of this information is already out there, after some forum searches I couldn't find the information I'm looking for.
    Cheers!

Default Musician with forearm tendinitis

There's no need to build up to start the Novice Program. We'd recommend that you ditch the trainer and find a SSC instead. Just do it, there's no prep needed.

Your practice-related tendinitis, from my own guitar-playing experience, is coming from a technique problem somewhere. Moreover, pure death by volume practice will not guarantee mastery. You have to optimize how you learn.