starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lifting Shoe Recommendation

Default Lifting Shoe Recommendation

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey,

I'm about 6 months into my starting strength program and I've decided I love it so much I should start buying some of the stuff the book says I should get. For a lifting shoe do you recommend the Sabo Girevoy or the Adidas Powerlift 2.0. I've never used a lifting shoe before so I'm not sure what to look for. I picked these shoes because they are in my budget at a local store.

https://www.maxbarbell.com/products/sabo-girevoy-shoes

Adidas Powerlift 2.0 Weightlfiting Shoes Review | BOXROX

Thanks,

Google "site:startingstrength.com shoe recommendation"

I've searched through the forum's and there isn't any talk about the Sabo Girevoy shoes. They are designed for kettlebell training but say they will work for powerlifting as well. From just looking at them they seem to be a better made shoe than the adidas Powerlift 2.0 but I'm not sure if there is a big difference between girevoy designed shoes and powerlifting shoes. Any thoughts?

You want an incompressible heel for heavy squats. I wouldn't buy a shoe that tries to compromise on this point, in order to make the shoe more comfortable for running or jumping in.

I like my old wooden-heeled Do-Wins. Don't know anything about the models you mentioned, sorry.

I have the powerlift 3. They are good. I've seen mixed reviews about them on the boards but they seem to work just fine for me. Granted, they are my first pair of lifting shoes..so there is that.