starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: SS interfering with cardiovascular fitness

Default SS interfering with cardiovascular fitness

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey there Andy,

I'm somewhat hesitant to post this in Mark's Q&A because he'd probably just yell at me for being a pussy so I thought I might initially ask you for some advice instead.

I've been on SS for about 8 months now, and by staying as true to its fundamentals as possible, I've completely disregarded any type of aerobic/cardiovascular exercise (running, swimming, cycling etc...) I am now seeing an immense drop in my overall fitness. Like, for example, I'm finding it difficult to WALK up a set of 120 stairs that I used to be able to RUN up........at the end of a 45min run. And it's especially disappointing because I was a junior tennis professional in my teenage years, and now at 22, I feel like an unfit loser with completely fucked up cardiovascular levels. Like, I don't even think it's healthy anymore. I feel heavy, slow and inert.

Now I do understand that it's about choosing one or the other; either being super strong or super fit, but there MUST be a way to find some sort of compromise, even though it may slow down/prolong my strength gains. I am certain that it's totally possible to be strong AND aerobically fit because I've met people that have both these qualities. I just don't think it's healthy anymore for me to continue placing a 300lb+ bar on my back 3 times a week and then just sit on my ass and pig out on food when I'm out of the gym.

I would really appreciate any advice you'd have for me. Thank you Andy.

J.D.

You are just a pussy.

JOKE!!!!!!!!