starting strength gym
Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: HamptonMike's Log

Default HamptonMike's Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Finally decided to start a log here. I've kept a written one since 2009.

Stats
    Height: 5'11"
    Weight: 196

I have been training off and on for the last 4 years. I think I've made all the mistakes that one could make in that time. These include changing programs too frequently, not milking the LP the first time through, mentally beating myself up after missing a lift, and generally being lazy at times.

4/9/13
    I had the pleasure to attend the SS Camp this past weekend at Mac and Gillian's Gym, CCSC. Jordan was the lead coach for the camp. I wish I would have attended a camp or a seminar earlier in my training. Jordan quickly pointed out some positional errors with my squat. That is the good part. The bad part is that I have squatted this way for almost 4 years. I thought that I was doing it correctly all along. I'm happy to have the feedback because it will only make me stronger in the future.

That being said... I am basically learning a "new movement". Fun, fun. Before the camp I was working a LP and my working weight for sets across was 290. After tweaking some things at the camp and almost getting stapled by 275 in front of 10 people, I lowered my working weight to 255.

Squat
    45x10x2, 95x5x2, 135x5x2, 185x3, 225x2, 255x5x3. Felt hard.
    Bench
    45x10, 95x5, 135x3, 165x2, 192x5,4,4
    Chins

Good to see you on here Mike. Just curious...what tweaks did Jordan make?