starting strength gym
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Elite deadlifters

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonathan Sutton View Post
    Well that's not entirely fair - I read SS (and PPST 2nd edition) cover to cover several times when I was starting out, and it's served me well. I also read the deadlift chapter that Rip posted when he was gearing up for the publication of the third edition. I'm a poor student unfortunately, so I decided not to get the updated copies when they were released. I'm definitely going to get PPST 3rd ed soon, as I want to have a look at the templates for training both olympic lifting and powerlifting, but didn't think the 3rd ed of SS was worth it. If it really has been updated that much, then I'll happily reconsider and get a copy.
    I am not here to sell books for Rip. However, you don't seem to have a good handle on how we teach the deadlift. There is no shrug in our setup, nor do we even mention the lats or the traps. The third edition goes into a lot of detail on these issues that was not in the second edition. Whether you wish to purchase the book is your decision. At the same time, I am not going to lay out, in exhaustive detail, what Rip already has. Many people like to say, "The Starting Strength way didn't work for me and therefore I do <insert something else here>." Almost invariably, they didn't do what we actually recommend, nor do they even understand what we recommend. Thus is the way of the Internet.

Quote Originally Posted by Tom Campitelli View Post