starting strength gym

Thread: Next steps Advice for Advanced Novice

Default Next steps Advice for Advanced Novice

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello coaches,

question about my next steps: I've been running SS for the past 4 months. Current stats are 22 y/o, 5'7", went from 145-174 lbs, current lifts are 330x5x3 squat, 227.5x5x3 bench, 145x5x3 press, 140x3x5 PC, and 330x5x1 deadlift. I reset my squat once at 300 lbs and moved to advanced novice, gained another few lbs of BW, and got my squat up to where it is now (330x5x3). Reset my DL once and moved to alternating DL and PC every other workout. Squats are currently getting grindy so I foresee a second stall soon. In your experience, for someone my age and training level, would it be best to reset once I stall again and move to the one day on and two days off template, or would you advise me to begin the TM for my squats? Additionally, Once my press and bench stall for the first time, would you recommend resetting 10% and continuing the SS template, or moving them to the TM template? Thank you for all the work you put into this forum!

Zack

I would probably move to a top set on the squats and two back offs for a little while. Go for a set of 5 and then 2x5 at 95% of that. You may want to do this before you stall out. It may buy you another couple of weeks before going to a TM-style template. I am pissed at you for being 22 and getting started with this more than 10 years before I did. Enjoy the ride, man.

Awesome. I'll try that. Also, for pressing, should I switch to 3x3 before they stall?