starting strength gym
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Camcorder Recommendation

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I used to use these around the gym back in the day and they'll work fine for what it sounds like you want to do: Amazon.com : Flip Mino Video Camera - Black, 2 GB, 1 Hour (1st Generation) : Camcorder Bundles : Electronics Phones have made them obsolete, though, so you can get them cheap.

GoPros are pretty sweet, but it's almost completely unusable for getting video of lifting. You can narrow the field of view with the higher end GoPro, but it's like $500 and it still distorts things pretty significantly.

I'm far from a camera expert, but a couple years ago I bought a Casio Exilim ZR700 off the bay brand new for $200.

It has a 25 mm lens, which is a nice wide-angle, and it has 18x optical zoom (so the 35 mm equivalent focal length ranges between 25 mm and 450 mm).

It shoots full HD, and can shoot at up to 1000 fps at the lowest resolution.

And it can snap photos in RAW.

I've used it in a few applications (lifting form checks, and a couple technical projects involving 1000 fps), and it's an incredibly reliable piece of hardware.

Quote Originally Posted by trick_ster View Post
    Wider angle. Don't have to set up the camera on the other side of an adjacent rack just so you can capture the whole lift.

The one major downside, and what stopped me from getting one, is the distortion all the action cameras seem to have. it probably can be fixed, but at the cost of worse workflow.