starting strength gym

Thread: 4 Day Heavy/Light Split

Default 4 Day Heavy/Light Split

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Good morning all. I'm posting this here as directed by Andy, since he's away for a bit.

I'm a 32 year old male, 215-220 lbs depending on the day. I've been using a HLM template, 5x5 ascending sets as written in "The Strongest Shall Survive." On this programming my squat went from 325 to 390, bench from 205-240, press from 140-165 (have since reset, currently at 155), deadlift from 340-405. I'm looking to change things up so my workouts are shorter. I tend to spend all shift at work on my feet and I work a rotating shift schedule (I'm a paramedic working mostly in an emergency room) so I do best if I lift before work. Caloric intake is usually around 3000-3500/day but sometimes less, such as when I have a particularly busy shift.

Mostly I want to know if this makes sense/looks ok to you guys:

Sunday
    Heavy squat 3x5
    Press 3x5

Monday
    Deadlift 1x5
    Power Clean 5x3

Wednesday
    Squat, 90% of Sunday, 3x5
    Bench press 3x5

Thursday
    Paused deadlift 1x5
    Weighted Chin up

The plan is to increase squat and deadlift by 5 lbs each week, bench/press by 2.5.

Thanks for looking this over.

I suspect your press and bench press will not go very far doing each only once per week. What about a more traditional split routine?

Quote Originally Posted by Tom Campitelli View Post
    I suspect your press and bench press will not go very far doing each only once per week. What about a more traditional split routine?
    Why does this not apply to dead lifts? As a novice i have little experience dead lifting so wouldnt it be beneficial to pull more frequently ?

A lot of peeps do fine pulling once a week provided they are squatting regularly. That does vary a little from trainee to trainee, however.