starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My nasty form breakdown is stalling my LP, what am

Default My nasty form breakdown is stalling my LP, what am

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey!

I've been doing SS for over two months and I have a huge problem with my squat. My form is breaking down when I add weight and it ruins my linear progression. I'm failing to do the program correctly.

I started doing squats at 52.5kg and increased 2.5kg each workout. I noticed that my form was breaking when I reached 65-70kg. So I spent a few workouts to correct my form and was able to progress to 80kg. Now I'm stuck again at 82.5-85kg and my form is horrible. I cannot add weight because I consider my sets a total failure due to the bad form.

I descend, and when I'm about to ascend my left knee caves inwards and my hips shoots to the right leg. My body is shifting laterally to the right and my knees are all over the place. I think my back is also twisting a little and this is obviously huge cause for concern! I'm starting to get some light back pain after my workouts.

Two videos from today's workout.

First set

Third set

I've been to a Chiro to determine if I had a leg length discrepancy, but she couldn't see any notable difference (no x-ray tho). She used the method Rip used in his article about LLD. She did however say that my pelvis was rotated counter-clockwise (if watched from above, my right side/shoulder appears to be slightly in front).

My goal is to squat 1.5x BW for 5 reps but I'm not getting closer with this bad form.

You guys have loads of experience and surely you must have encountered this problem before. Do you have any recommendations on how I can fix my form and get back on with my LP? Any help and feedback is much appreciated. Thank you.