starting strength gym

Thread: Lower Back Strain from a Squat rep

Default Lower Back Strain from a Squat rep

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Greetings, Comrade Campitelli and friends!

First off, apologies for the Bolshevik-quality video I'm about to post, it was not recorded with the intention of posting here, but something went very wrong on the 4th rep of my 3rd set with 300lbs today and I'd really appreciate an experienced eye to have a look at the footage. I believe I have a good clue about what I did wrong because for some silly reason I decided to put my back into harder extension on that rep and thus probably into overextension. But I'm a novice, not an SS coach, and I can't help but wonder if I'm wrong about that or doing other things wrong which may have played a role in it.

The pain is in the lower back muscle on the right side. The nature of the injury is, from what I understand, that of a strain. It feels sore while walking and tightens up suddenly when bending over/twisting or just randomly while walking in a way which causes me to gasp a bit. It's completely painless when the muscle is relaxed while sitting or lying. I had no trouble bench pressing afterwards but didn't feel I could power clean. I found I could do bent-over-rows instead with only slight discomfort. I have not had an injury like this before.

Here is the video. The bad 4th rep is at 29sec.