starting strength gym

Thread: Becoming a better coach.

Default Becoming a better coach.

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I seem to have fallen into training athletes. It started when I ran myself through the program and everyone wanted to know how I did it. So I showed some people at work, helped them along. I didn't think of it as coaching at the time. I work in law enforcement and have put quite a few guys through the program. A while back, one of them asked me if I would help him with his soccer team's off season strength training. This is becoming a challenge in a way. Pretty much everyone else I have trained, or helped, have SWAT or military background. They are driven, and understand their body. I'm trying to change my approach with these kids, as it's been difficult just to get them moving their skeletal structure in a squat like manner. Some are having decent progress, a few aren't. I didn't think I was doing a overly spectacular job, but they asked me if I'd take on the high school football team. Any advice on training weak, uncoordinated novices? What are your priorities when judging form? Any advice is appreciated. Also any word on how to be a better coach in general. I have the ability to do online school at work. I'm sure I could waste my time getting an NASM certification, or getting another degree. Is there a more useful course of study that would help me coach others in the future?

The best thing you could possibly do is get a great coach to mentor you. Experience is the key, but there's a gulf of difference between experience and just repeating ineffective processes. Honestly, a Starting Strength Seminar is probably the best investment you could make here.