starting strength gym

Thread: Re-setting/re-programming the Deadlift

Default Re-setting/re-programming the Deadlift

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey coaches,

First off: 25 yr old male, 6'1" 205 lbs. Wasn't a true beginner when I started Starting Strength - fucked around with my own PPL "program" for a few years before without really focusing on strength gains but made some anyway - so I only did SS for about 3 months before I started stalling pretty consistently. Maybe could've gotten a little more out of LP, but decided to jump to the Texas Method. I've been running it for almost 3 months now.

My current 5RM's are: 335 S // 225 B // 145 OHP. I don't do power cleans.

I left deadlifts out for a reason. I didn't really do deadlifts hardly at all before I started SS and had a lot of trouble executing the form properly. I took the easy way out and switched to a sumo style, which I could do more comfortably, so I stuck with them. I recently started hitting a wall with my sumo deadlifts (365x3) while my squat was still progressing. I suspected it was because my posterior chain was weak, so I decided I want to switch back to conventional style to train it better than the sumo style.

Trouble is, I'm experiencing the same kinds of form problems that caused me to switch to sumo. Even with weight at or below my squat weight (yes, I'm hitting depth) I'm experiencing a lot of lower and middle back rounding, which I think is largely due to weakness that was masked by the more upright back in the sumo deadlift. In order to strengthen my posterior muscles and get the form down, I think I'm going to have to do a hard reset.