starting strength gym

Thread: MPFL reconstruction and sharp knee pain

Default MPFL reconstruction and sharp knee pain

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I have been doing the SSLP for about 2 months now. I had MPFL reconstruction back in February so i am a little over 5 months since. The usual rehab protocol takes about 6 months to get sport ready (being able to play game speed at someone's respective sport). My surgeon actually encouraged doing barbell squats as part of my recovery but did not specify high bar or low bar. Since i was recovering I did not want to overdo myself so I started my progression around 60lbs and have been adding 5 every workout.

I have never done low bar squats prior to this program and have been self teaching through the book and various SS videos on youtube. As well as getting some online pointers from the great folks on this forum.

Today I squatted 205lbsx3x5. I noticed that I have a sharp knee pain on the top of my knee cap when I try to get up after sitting. My question is this a function of the squat, user error or just a function of needing a bit more time to heal? I remember reading that the squat shouldn't put any strain on the ACL or MCL but what about the MPFL? I don't think it is from my form since my knees are out during the squat. I do have hardware in my knee in the form of a screw and some absorbable anchors located in my patella.

I'm not sure if this is just a work through the pain scenario or give it some time and ease up on the load of my squat for a bit.

Thanks for any input

I don't have any experience with this procedure and without seeing what your squat looks like, I cannot speculate on what if any form issues you may have. Given that you are five months out from surgery, I would not imagine this is as a result of insufficient healing, however. We'll see if anyone else has something useful to add.