starting strength gym
Page 1 of 35 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Battered, mostly retired, south Wales rugby player

Default Battered, mostly retired, south Wales rugby player

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello, I'm Ian, from south Wales. Its Christmas time 2015. I'm 41 years old, 6ft tall, 105kg. I've been doing the lifts since Dec 2013. I did LP until July 2014 then went on holiday for 6 weeks with wife and kids. I did LP from Sept 2014 until Feb 2015, then basic TM until July 2015.

My best set of fives this year are:

Squat: 187.5kg
    Deadlift: 197.5kg
    Press: 80kg 1x5
    Bench: 107.5kg
    Power Clean: 95kg (set of three)
    Power Snatch: 72.5kg (set of two)

Went on holiday again this year for 7 weeks. Restarted LP in Sept 2015. This years LP is not going as well as last years. I think I've irritated my low back. Currently squatting 150kg and reevaluating my squat technique. Suffering complete lack of confidence on deadlift, back hurts pulling 120kg. Have always hated bench. I don't hate the press. Power cleans, well I just keep plugging away.

As a rugby player I played tight head prop for 20 years. Amateur division 2/3 standard. You meet some big, heavy, strong men. I think all the scrummaging against 20 stone lumps it has taken its toll on my low back. Or hip or something. I should go and see someone about it. By the way, I did no barbell training in this time. Rugby fitness consisted of running around getting sweaty. Absolute nonsense.

I've also coached my wife on the lifts, she is finally making some good progress. It took a while. Have taught my oldest (12) son to deadlift and press. He is also making progress.

I keep track using spreadsheets, notes, videos, but thought this log would be a good way to pull it all together in one place.