starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting strong in Brazil

Default Getting strong in Brazil

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello,

My name is Victor (as my user name shows) and I'm a Brazilian guy that has just began doing Starting Strength. I'm not a total novice but I'm far from getting as strong as I want to. I already 'know' (meaning the form is not terrible) how to do the basic lifts but I never really did the program as it is. So I decided to stop the bs and do the program for once.

I'm a 21 y.o., 6' guy walking around with 198 lb.

The units in Brazil are all international, but I'll post the weights already converted to lb, as I see it fits better in this forum.

Current Stats for the sets/reps in SS:
    Squat: 205
    Press: 121
    Bench: don't do it for several months, so I don't know it yet
    Power Clean: 117
    Deadlift: 205
    Chins: 7,7,5,2 (body weight)

You can see that my squat is the same as my deadlift and I think it's because my hips are all beaten up by the end of the workout, hindering me from progressing the lift. That's it for now. I'll later post some videos of me doing the lifts so I can get some judgement of yours .

Welcome to the forum, Victor!

You say you 'know' how to do the lifts, but if squatting beats up your 21 year old hips, you do want to have your form looked at - when you post those videos in the technique subforum you may get a lot of useful advice. Not to judge, but to help Take the videos from different angles for best results.
    Last edited by peez; 10-21-2016 at 03:01 PM.

Thanks for the reply man, really appreciate it.

So, today was Workout B and it went like that:

- Squat:fail with 205 lb