starting strength gym
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Petesmithings Log

Default Petesmithings Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello, my name is Pete and I'm fairly new to the starting strength program.

Info
    Height: 5'8"
    Weight: 205 lbs
    Wasit: 36"

Training History
    I've been weight training for a little more than 10 years. I've always trained consistently for about 4-5 months before taking an extended vacation and coming back again. In my younger days it was due to changing circumstances and goals, for the past 5 years I've always hit a plateau while over training and causing some moderate aggravation of old injuries. I come from more of a bodybuilding background; six day splits, 3 sets of 10, and unnecessary overuse of assistance exercises. Found the Starting Strength program while looking for a technique and form book, read the rest of the book and bought practical programming, and the logic just made sense. Now this is my first go around with the program.

Previous Maxes, around Dec 2015
    Squat: 250x3x10
    Bench: 225x3x10
    Seated Press: 135x3x10
    Deadlift: N/A, never really trained deadlift before

Initial Goals
    Make steady progression while focusing on improving form. Choose my next weight with the perspective of how will this jump allow me to maintain consistency on a program over the next 3, 6, or 12 months. Have foresight to know that I overtrain too quickly in the past and give up due to injuries. Choose form that is safe for steady progress over the big gains right now. Have the vision to see the big gains over the next 6-12 months, and focus my program around long term consistency.

16 JAN
    Squat 115x3x5
    Bench 95x3x5
    Deadlift 155x1x5

18 JAN
    Squat 125x3x5
    Press 85x3x5
    Deadlift 165x1x5

20 JAN
    Squat 135x3x5
    Bench 105x3x5
    Deadlift 175x1x5

23 JAN
    Squat 145x3x5
    Press 90x3x5