starting strength gym

Thread: Chris is getting stronger

Default Chris is getting stronger

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi! I’ve been exercising for 10+ years, but only recently discovered Starting Strength, and have now been training for roughly 10 weeks. I’m really enjoying making progress for the first time in a long time and I figure it will be fun to share with anyone who’s interested in following along with me.

Current Stats/Lifts (as of 3/27/17):

Height: 5’10.5”
    Weight: 178
    Bodyfat: “lean(ish)”

Squat: 255x5x3 (started at 155)
    Press: 114x5x3 (started at 85)
    Deadlift: 260x5x1 (started at 185)
    Bench: 160x5x3 (started at 115)
    Power clean: 151x3x5 (started at 115)

I’ve had a couple rough weeks at work and a couple illness setbacks (see below) so far. Otherwise I think my progress would be even better. But I’m really happy with how things have gone, and even happier that I can see my lifts continuing to improve.

Physical history:

Growing up I did a lot of running (my dad was a fairly serious marathon runner) and karate. However, in high school I stopped all that and got pretty out of shape. I was never incredibly heavy (probably max of 185-190lb), but I had virtually no muscle, so I carried that weight very poorly. Pretty much the definition of skinny-fat. When I was 17, something clicked* and I decided to lose the flab. Over the next year I cleaned up my diet (nothing intelligent: just dropping obvious junk and skipping breakfast most days) and started “working out.” I got down to about 155. No longer skinny-fat, just skinny. Over the next decade-plus I got more interested in weight training, but never made much progress beyond my newbie-gains (with one exception**).

Challenges: