starting strength gym

Thread: Deadlift form check

Default Deadlift form check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello I'm trying to learn how to deadlift and engrain the 5 step set up- I think I lost extension on the last two reps any and all feedback is appreciated

Untitled on Vimeo

if youre doing sets of 5 you shouldnt be resetting every rep. so keep your hands on the bar the whole set, but they look good to me. (Im a novice)

You're not getting set enough in any of the reps and your flexion gets worse as the set progresses.

Bigger breath, brace your abs/erectors even harder, and squeeze your chest up even more. Get that last 1/8" of an inch of squeeze up, then hold it throughout the rep.

Lastly, be careful of leaning too far back at the top. Just stand up straight.

Quote Originally Posted by Mia Inman View Post
    You're not getting set enough in any of the reps and your flexion gets worse as the set progresses.

Bigger breath, brace your abs/erectors even harder, and squeeze your chest up even more. Get that last 1/8" of an inch of squeeze up, then hold it throughout the rep.

Lastly, be careful of leaning too far back at the top. Just stand up straight.
    Hiya just a few questions on how to go in from here. Should I lighten the weight and work back up or keep the weight the same till I can do it right?

Also I find it harder to get my back into extension when wearing my belt and oly shoes are these necessary? What would you recommend doing?

Thankyou so much

Mia can override here as she is the SSC, not me.

My thoughts:

1) Try a 3 inch belt if you can afford it. As for the OLY shoes, you can try flats, I recently switched and it is easier to get into extension without them. try both ways.